Home :: Museum :: Founder :: autobiography

  
Autobiography

  Prof. Dr. h.c. rer.nat. Dipl.-Kfm. Thomas Josef WITT

was born in Bad Reichenhall at 2.9.1947.
In Munich he attended the Oskar von Miller Gymnasium and later studied economics at the Ludwig Maximilian University (LMU).

In 2013 the Dr. h.c. rer.nat. was granted to him by the dean of the LMU.

In 2014 the "Akademiepreis" of the 'Bavarian Academy of Sciences' was granted to him by Akademiepräsident Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann.

In 2017 he became Professor at the faculty of Entomology of University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako, Mali.
„Erst bei einer synthetischen Betrachtung von Habitus, Genitalmorphologie, geographischer Verbreitung, Biologie und Verhaltensweise [und heute der DNA-Analyse] .... kann einmal eine natürliche Systematik ihre Anwendung finden."
(nach WITT, T.J.-1977. Mitt.Münch.Ent.Ges.66:142.)



Years of study

Since 1962, as a schoolboy, WITT has started observing, catching, keeping and collecting of Palerctic butterflies (Rhopalocera), sphinx moths ( Sphinges ) and 'silkworm-like' moths ( Bombyces ) sensu SEITZ I and II. Starting his collection in the vicinity of Munich, soon he and his friend by this task, Peter ZELLER (who then tragically died in an accident at his mid-20es in Nepal), have regularly inspected interesting biotopes at foothills of Alps and in Bavarian mountains. Soon WITT became a Member of Entomological Society of Munich and got into contact with many lepidopterologists and employees of Bavarian State Collection for Zoology, Munich. He had spent a large portion of his free time in Lepidopterology Section of the Institute, where he was glad to provide his help as a volunteer, working together with custodians of that time Franz DANIEL (1895-1985), Josef WOLFSBERGER, Dr. Wolfgang DIERL, Leo SHELJUZHKO and with Director of the Institute Dr. Walter FORSTER (1910-1986) (Obituary see WITT 1988). He had also opportunity to communicate with many native and foreign scientists, who have visited the Institute. Since 1970 until 1997 he has been in charge of booking-office at the Entomological Society of Munich. He had especially strong learner-teacher connection with specialist on Zygaenidae Dr. Karl-Heinz WIEGEL, Munich and specialist on Bombyces and Sphinges Franz DANIEL (Obituary see WITT 1987a), who both included him intimately to his work. Since 1982 Thomas WITT (F.R.E.S.) is fellow of the Royal Entomological Society of London.

Goal-setting and specialization

The productive cooperation caused DANIEL, who initially thought to bequeath his collection to the Zoological State Collection, to change his mind, already during his life leaving it to WITT, whom he considered as a successor of his studies. Thus, WITT defined the goal of his lepidopterological activity: study of systematics and taxonomy of "Bombyces et Sphinges sensu SEITZ II" under synthetical approach to the their habitus, morphology, geographic distribution, biology, behavior, DNA-analysis and some other characteristics.

Previously united by SEITZ under “Bombyces and Sphinges”, these families are not any more considered as a unit, being positioned among different taxonomic groups. Now they belong to either Macro- or Microlepidoptera. Systematic list of the families (after FLETCHER & NYE (1975-1984)), includes the following ones in an alphabetical order:
Arctiidae, Axiidae, Brahmaeidae, Bombycidae, Callidulidae, Camptolomidae, Cossidae,Cyclidiidae, Dilobidae, Drepanidae, Endromidae, Epicopeidae, Epiplemidae, Epipyropidae,Eupterotidae, Hepialidae, Heterogynidae, Lasiocampidae, Lemoniidae, Limacodidae, Lymantriidae, Megalopygidae, Nolidae, Notodontidae, Psychidae, Saturniidae, Sesiidae, Sphingidae, Syntomidae, Thaumetopoeidae, Thyatiridae, Thyretidae, Thyridae, Uranidae, Zygaenidae.

WITT started a systematic study of the literature on these lepidopteran families, making species cards. DANIEL started monitoring the literature since the appearance of SEITZ Supplement Volume in 1933, putting it in his card index. WITT took this card index and re-sorted it in accordance to author-symbol method, developed by WIEGEL (WIEGEL 1969, Nachrichtenblatt d. Bayerischen Entomologen 18:106-112), and used in his collection. Since 1972, the year when DANIEL stopped his research activity due to the age and gave his collection to WITT, the latter alone has been carrying out the task of systematizing the literature. Cataloging had followed constantly the author-symbol scheme and since 1993 is being supported by specially developed computer software. Therefore, the literature on mentioned families since 1933 until nowadays is substantially systematized.

Systematics and corresponding arrangement of species have initially followed the work of SEITZ. However, there have been constant changes due to the new data. WITT collection followed them, as far as possible rearranging material according to modern systematic views, suggested in articles, revisions, monographs and catalogues.


Modern state of knowledge on the subject of study

The result of the mentioned activity is not only in making the collection of Lepidoptera, which is catalogued for users. The true result, which is in fact a recording of what is known about mentioned lepidopteran families to-date, consists of two components:

Collection of lepidopteran specimens (slide preparation) , their conservation and openness to new materials. Various computer based catalogues serve to estimate the slides' collection:
  • Catalogue of genitalia slides: about 30.000 microscopic slides of orders Rhopalocera and Heterocera are distributed among seven cabinets under criteria: current number of specimen – species or definition – location – preparator – number given by preparator.

  • Catalogue of alcohol specimens under criteria: current number of specimen – species or definition – location - collector

  • Catalogue of specimens in collecting bags under criteria: current number of specimen – species or definition – location – collector

  • Catalogue of types under criteria: order – number of family – family – genus – species or definition – holotype, lectotype, neotype – paratypes, cotypes, syntypes
    Currently ca.2.800 Holotypes and ca.77.000 paratypes are preserved.

  • loan exchange

Correspondence Databank consisting of published and unpublished literature citations, morphological studies, pictures and handwritten notes in a form of computer maintained library cards, constantly renewed and connected by author-symbol method with actual library:
  • Obtaining of the relevant literature in the form of journals, periodicals, book series, separate publications, special publications and copies

  • Evaluation and input of data in the computer data bank

  • Organization of an author catalogue in the form of catalogue cards in which each publication connected with its library code

  • Organization of species catalogue in the form of catalogue cards in which each taxon assigned to its own card

  • Data connection by putting information on species list using author symbol

  • Addition personal observations, notes from discussions, pictures etc. to species cards

  • Sorting and maintaining of species cards as far as possible in accordance to actual systematics

State of knowledge on different families and genera is very different. Notes on that along with current and planned research projects, activities of the corresponding scientists etc. are provided in the Introduction chapter to each particular family.


Geographic limits

While DANIEL has primarily worked with Palearctic fauna and partially with that of oriental region, WITT added a Nearctic region to the list. Since the beginning of 90th, the data from South America and Africa has also being collected.

Historic limits, of course, hinder the systematic study and understanding of families. Sphingidae and Hepialidae have been long collected worldwide, and in all the families there are groups or genera, for which the attempt to produce a document on their world distribution was undertaken, for example, for genera Utetheisa HÜBNER ( Arctiidae ), Phyllodesma HÜBNER ( Lasiocampidae ) und Furcula LAMARCK ( Notodontidae ). Anyway, the widening of geographical borders of studies should be a long-term goal.

The materials from South-America were steadily increasing with the result that a separate project was launched "Südamerika"

The material from Africa also steadily was increasing by taking part in the results of expeditions to Congo, Namibia, Kenya, Tanzania, Southafrica and Madagascar. The results of the Sahara-crossing lepidopterist Harald Sulak from Mauretania and Mali close the gap of knowledge of the distribution in the West as well as the results of his collecting trips from Libya to Ethiopia. The lighttrapping by Dr.Günther Müller from the Eastern region of Egypt to the border of Sudan bring new knowlwdge. Further collecting trips by Vladimir GURKO to Sudan as well as Aidas SALDAITIS to the island of Sokotra also bring further new knowledge.

Cooperation with specialists

Working on such a big number of very heterogenous lepidopteran families in the form, which has been practiced by DANIEL, is no longer possible. Problem statements and methods for different families, along with a lavish quantity of new publications, are more than one specialist can deal with. A rare day with an immense material coming from expeditions elapses without a discovery of new species for the region, previously unrecorded sex for the species, new population, which can be considered as subspecies or new species, or obtaining a new information, which can be a corner-stone in understanding of the problem, on which colleagues are working and should be informed on. The new species in the literature is quite often based on few specimens, whereas more extensive series from various regions, which could greatly improve the description, are available.

Therefore, WITT has looked and is looking now for the contacts with lepidopterologists, who devoted themselves to the study of families, represented at the Museum. Past years brought contacts with a number of qualified specialists, who accomplished the study of an immense new material on certain families. Regular cooperation, experiences exchange and co-authorship in publications brought to the Museum so-called "corresponding scientists".

Research Associate of McGUIRE CENTER for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity

In october 2011 Thomas WITT was elected as a Research Associate of the McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity at the Florida Museum of Natural History, University of Florida, Gainesville.

The McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity serves both research and public education functions. The center includes the living Butterfly Rainforest and exhibit space that features information about Lepidoptera and rainforests worldwide, as well as 39,000 square feet of research laboratories and collection space.

McGUIRE CENTER for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity, 308 Hull Road, PO Box 112710, Gainesville, FL 32611-2710, U.S.A.
homepage McGuire Center for Lepidoptera & Biodiversity

Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde seitens der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Am 22.November 2013 wurde im Rahmen einer Festveranstaltung in den Räumen der Zoologischen Sammlung des Bayerischen Staates der Titel eines Doktor honoris causa rerum naturalium an Dipl.-Kfm. Thomas J. Witt durch den Prodekan der Fakultät für Biologie der LMU, Prof. Dr. Jörg Nickelsen, verliehen.

Die Feier fand in einem festlichen Rahmen statt und nach der Festansprache von Prof. Dr. Haszprunar, Generaldirektor der Staatlichen Naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen Bayerns (SNSB), sprachen Dr. Axel Hausmann (ZSM), der aus Ungarn angereiste Prof. Dr. Zoltán Varga (Universität Debrecen) und Prof. Dr. Michael Boppré (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg i.Br.). Dieser führte das Auditorium in die Welt südamerikanischer Bärenspinner ein (“Bärenspinner: Gifte, Düfte und mehr”) und eröffnete dabei eine faszinierende Perspektive interdisziplinärer Forschung weit über die Grenzen von Systematik und Taxonomie im engeren Sinne.

Der frisch gebackene Dr. h.c. Thomas Witt bedankte sich mit einem leidenschaftlichen Plädoyer für verstärkte Bemühungen zur Erfassung und zum Erhalt der Biodiversität unserer Erde und zeigte auf, welche rechtlichen und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen geeignet und nötig sind, um die internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Forschung und den Aufbau von Forschungssammlungen zu begünstigen. Die beiliegende Fotoauswahl zeigt einen Überblick über die Gäste der Festveranstaltung.

Verleihung des Akademiepreises 2014

Am Samstag, 6. Dezember 2014 fand im Herkulessaal der Münchner Residenz die Jahresfeier der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Anwesenheit von Staatsminister Ludwig Spaenle statt.

Daran anschließend wurden durch Akademiepräsident Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann sechs Preise verliehen, unter anderem an Dr. h.c. Thomas J. Witt wegen seiner Verdienste um die Erforschung von Schmetterlingen und seines herausragenden Engagements zur Förderung wissenschaftlicher Projekte im Bereich der Biodiversitätsforschung.
mehr Informationen über Verleihung des Akademiepreises 2014

Verleihung des Ranges und Titels Professor in Entomology seitens der Universität Bamako

In 2017 he became Professor at the faculty of Entomology of University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako, Mali.

Patronyms – taxa named after Dr. h.c. Thomas J. Witt

Genera (5)
Wittia De Freina (Arctiidae)
Wittstrotia Behounek & Speidel , 2005 (Noctuidae)
Wittocossus Yakovlev , 2004 (Cossidae)
Wittonola László, Ronkay & Ronkay , 2014, (Nolidae)
Wittinia VOLKOVA, 2017, in litteris

Species (31)
Thibetana witti Efetov (Zygaenidae)
Peridea witti Schintlmeister (Notodontidae)
Wernya witti László & Ronkay (Thyatiridae)
Neotogaria thomaswitti László & Ronkay & Ronkay (Thyatiridae)
Epipsestis witti László & Ronkay & Ronkay (Thyatiridae)
Saturnia (Rinaca) witti Brechlin (Saturniidae)
Phantosoma witti Kostjuk & Zolotuhin , 2000 (Lasiocampidae)
Neostilbina witti Thoeny , 2000 (Noctuidae)
Smerinthulus witti Brechlin , 2000 (Sphingidae)
Lymantria witti Schintlmeister ,2004 (Lymantriidae)
Ethmia thomaswitti Kun , 2004 (Ethmiidae)
Utetheisa (Pitasila) witti De Vos , 2006 (Arctiidae)
Phocoderma witti Solovyev , 2007 (Limacodidae)
Semagystia witti Yakovlev , 2007 (Cossidae)
Actias witti Brechlin , 2007 (Saturniidae)
Holcocerus witti Yakovlev & Saldaitis & Ivinskis , 2007 (Cossidae)
Idiovulpecula witti Karisch (Arctiidae, Lithosiinae)
Diachrysia witti Ronkay & Ronkay & Behounek , 2008 (Noctuidae)
Caio witti Brechlin & Meister , 2010 (Saturniidae)
Neochalcosia witti Buchsbaum & Chen & Su , 2010 (Zygaenidae)
Automeris witti Brechlin & Meister , 2011 (Saturniidae)
Adelowalkeria witti Brechlin & Meister , 2011 (Saturniidae)
Typhonia witti Sobczyk , 2012 (Psychidae)
Graptasura witti Bucsek , 2012 (Arctiidae)
Eucraera witti Prozorov , in litteris (Lasiocampidae)
Ortopla witti Behounek & Han & Kononenko , 2013 (Noctuidae)
Calliteara witti Trofimova & Shovkoon , 2016 (Lymantriidae)
Nola thomaswitti László, Ronkay & Ronkay, 2014 , (Nolidae)
Carriola witti SHOVKOON (in litteris) (Lymantriidae)
Scopelodes witti SOLOVYEV & GIUSTI , 2017 (Limacodidae)
Lithosarctia witti VOLYNKIN & SALDAITIS, 2018 (Arctiidae)

Subspecies (8)
Zygaena filipendulae witti Wiegel (Zygaenidae)
Dendrolimus pini witti De Freina (Lasiocampidae)
Trichiura verenae witti Ganev (Lasiocampidae)
Eilema albicosta witti Kobes , 1993 (Arctiidae)
Poecilocampa populi witti De Freina (Lasiocampidae)
Laothoe philerema witti Eitschberger & Danner & Surholt (Sphingidae)
Clanis deucalion thomaswitti Eitschberger , 2013 (Sphingidae)
Cyana (Ideovulpecula) pretoriae witti Karisch , 2013 (Arctiidae)

Personal publications

Keeping in mind mentioned above, we understand, why publications of WITT (see Autobiography ) are not defined by the specialization, but filled with a rich data on different families or represent an attempt of outlining a general picture. We should mention some projects of particular importance: "Bombyces et Sphinges of Western Palearctic" , series "Moths of Vietnam with special reference to Mt.Fan-si-pan" as well as publication within the framework "Insects of Israel" . Furthermore Thomas Witt is founder of the WITT CATALOGUE, a series of about 60 volumes on Noctuoidea planned to be published within the forthcoming 25 years: „The Witt Catalogue - A taxonomic Atlas of the Eurasian Noctuoidea”. In 2014 he founded the book series “Proceedings of the Museum Witt“ in cooperation with the State Nature Research Centre in Vilnius, Lithuania.

Home :: Museum :: Museumsgründer :: Autobiographie

  
Thomas Witt

  Prof. Dr. h.c. rer.nat. Dipl.-Kfm. Thomas Josef WITT

wurde am 2.9.1947 in Bad Reichenhallgeboren.
Er besuchte in München das Oskar von Miller Gymnasium und studierte Betriebswirtschaft an der Ludwig Maximilian Universität (LMU).

2013 wurde ihm vom Dekan der LMU der Titel des Dr. h.c. rer.nat. verliehen.

2014 wurde ihm von Akademiepräsident Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann der Akademiepreis der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften verliehen.

2017 wurde Dr. h.c. Thomas J. Witt vom Leiter der Abteilung für Entomologie und des Malaria Research und Training Centers Rang und Titel eines Professor in Entomology an der Fakultät der University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako, Mali verliehen.

„Erst bei einer synthetischen Betrachtung von Habitus, Genitalmorphologie, geographischer Verbreitung, Biologie und Verhaltensweise [und heute der DNA-Analyse] .... kann einmal eine natürliche Systematik ihre Anwendung finden."
(nach WITT, T.J.-1977. Mitt.Münch.Ent.Ges.66:142.)



Lehrjahre

Bereits im Jahr 1962 als Schüler begann WITT mit dem Beobachten, Fangen, Züchten und Sammeln paläarktischer Tagfalter (Rhopalocera), Schwärmer (Sphinges) und 'spinnerartiger Nachtfalter' (Bombyces) sensu SEITZ I und II. Zunächst allein sammelte er in der Umgebung von München, alsbald zusammen mit seinem Sammelfreund Peter ZELLER, der mit Mitte 20 bei einem tragischen Unfall in Nepal sein Leben verlor, wurden regelmäßig interessante Biotope im Voralpenland und in den bayerischen Bergen besammelt. Alsbald wurde er Mitglied der Münchner Entomologischen Gesellschaft e.V. und kam so in Kontakt mit zahlreichen Lepidopterologen sowie mit den Mitarbeitern der Zoologischen Staatssammlung in München. Einen großen Teil seiner Freizeit verbrachte er jetzt in der Lepidopterologischen Abteilung dieses Instituts, wo er fasziniert von der Materie als freiwilliger Mitarbeiter seine Arbeitskraft zur Verfügung stellte und so eng mit den damaligen Kustoden Franz DANIEL (1895-1985), Josef WOLFSBERGER, Dr.Wolfgang DIERL, Leo SHELJUZHKO und dem Direktor des Instituts Dr. Walter FORSTER (1910-1986) (Nekrolog siehe WITT 1988) zusammenarbeiten durfte. Auch kam er mit zahlreichen in- und ausländischen Wissenschaftlern, die als Gastforscher temporär im Institut arbeiteten, in Gedankenaustausch. Von 1970 bis 1977 übte er in der Münchner Entomologischen Gesellschaft das Amt des Kassenwartes aus. Ein besonders inniges Schüler-Lehrer-Verhältnis veband ihn mit dem Zygaenidae-Spezialisten Dr.Karl-Heinz WIEGEL, München, und dem Bombyces und Sphinges - Spezialisten Franz DANIEL (Nekrolog siehe WITT 1987a), die ihn beide eng in ihre Arbeit miteinbezogen. Seit 1982 ist Thomas WITT (F.R.E.S.) Mitglied der Royal Entomological Society of London.

Zielsetzung und Spezialisierung

Die fruchtbare Zusammenarbeit führte dazu, daß DANIEL seine ursprüngliche Absicht, seine Sammlung der Zoologischen Staatssammlung zu vermachen, aufgab und sie stattdessen bereits zu Lebzeiten familienweise an WITT übergab, den er als Nachfolger in seinem Tätigkeitsbereich ansah. WITT definierte somit die Zielsetzung seiner eigenen lepidopterologischen Tätigkeit: Erforschung der Systematik und Taxonomie der "Bombyces et Sphinges sensu SEITZ II" unter synthetischer Betrachtung von Habitus, Morphologie, geographischer Verbreitung, Biologie, Verhaltensweise, DNA-Analyse und weiterer Merkmale dieser Tiergruppe.

Die von SEITZ unter "Bombyces et Sphinges" zusammengefaßten Familien bilden heute keine Einheit mehr, sondern sind unter völlig anderen Oberbegriffen zusammengefaßt. Sie gehören sowohl zu den Macro- als auch Microlepidoptera. Die systematische Anordnung der Familien erfolgte nach FLETCHER & NYE(1975-1984) und umfaßt die folgenden, hier alphabetisch gelistet:
Arctiidae, Axiidae, Brahmaeidae, Bombycidae, Callidulidae, Camptolomidae, Cossidae,Cyclidiidae, Dilobidae, Drepanidae, Endromidae, Epicopeidae, Epiplemidae, Epipyropidae,Eupterotidae, Hepialidae, Heterogynidae, Lasiocampidae, Lemoniidae, Limacodidae, Lymantriidae, Megalopygidae, Nolidae, Notodontidae, Psychidae, Saturniidae, Sesiidae, Sphingidae, Syntomidae, Thaumetopoeidae, Thyatiridae, Thyretidae, Thyrididae, Uranidae, Zygaenidae.

So begann WITT nun systematisch die Literatur im Hinblick auf diese Lepidopterenfamilien durchzuarbeiten und eine Artenkartei anzulegen. DANIEL hatte die Literatur seit Erscheinen des SEITZ-Supplementbandes 1933 systematisch verfolgt und in seiner Kartei erfaßt. WITT übernahm diese Kartei und gestaltete sie in Form der von WIEGEL entwickelten Autorsymbolmethode (WIEGEL 1969, Nachrichtenblatt d. Bayerischen Entomologen 18:106-112) als Basis für seine Artenkartei um. Ab 1972, dem Jahr in dem DANIEL aus Altersgründen seine Forschungstätigkeit einstellte und seine Sammlung an WITT übergab, führte letzterer bis heute die Literaturauswertung alleine fort. Die Erfassung erfolgt konsequent nach der Autorsymbolmethode und wird seit 1993 durch ein speziell dafür entwickeltes Computerprogramm unterstützt. Es ist davon auszugehen, daß die Literatur ab 1933 bis heute für die genannten Lepidopterenfamilien insgesamt und rückwirkend wesentlich systematisch erfaßt wurde.

Die Systematik und damit korrespondierend die Anordnung der Arten in der Sammlung ergab sich ursprünglich aus dem Werk von SEITZ. Sie wurde im Laufe der Jahrzehnte laufend den sich durch neue Erkenntnisse ständig ändernden systematischen Verhältnissen angepasst. Bei jeder veröffentlichten systematischen Veränderung in einer Einzelpublikation, Revision, Monographie oder einem Katalog wurde und wird das Sammlungsmaterial neu überprüft und gegebenenfalls umgesteckt.


Der Kenntnisstand des Forschungsobjektes zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt

Das Ergebnis dieser Tätigkeit erschöpft sich daher nicht in einer einfachen Lepidopteren-Sammlung, die durch ein Inhaltsverzeichnis dem Benutzer erschlossen wird. Das Ergebnis ist vielmehr eine Dokumentation der Kenntnis dieser Lepidopterenfamilien zum gegenwärtigen Zeitpunkt, die aus zwei Komponenten besteht:

der Sammlung von Lepidoptera-Präparaten , die konservatorisch betreut werden muß und ständig durch Neueingänge ergänzt wird. Verschiedene computergeführte Verzeichnisse dienen der Erschließung des Sammlungsbestandes:
  • Verzeichnis der Genitalpräparate: Getrennt nach den Ordnungen Rhopalocera und Heterocera werden ca.30.000 mikroskopische Präparate in 7 Schränken .nach den Kriterien: Laufende Präparatenummer - Art bzw.Determination - Fundort - Ersteller - vom Ersteller vergebene Nummer - verwaltet.

  • Verzeichnis der Alkoholpräparate nach den Kriterien: Laufende Präparatenummer - Art bzw.Determination - Fundort - Sammler

  • Verzeichnis der Sackpräparate nach den Kriterien:Laufende Präparatenummer - Art bzw.Determination - Fundort - Sammler

  • Typenverzeichnis nach den Kriterien:Ordnung - Familiennummer - Familie - Gattung - Art bzw.Unterart - Holotypus, Lectotypus, Neotypus - Paratypen, Cotypen,Syntypen
    Der Bestand umfasst derzeit ca. 3.500 Holotypen und ca.89.000 Paratypen.

  • Leihverkehr

der
korrespondierenden Datenbank bestehend aus Literaturzitaten und einer Fülle von publizierten Einzeldaten und unpublizierten Beobachtungen, morphologischen Untersuchungen, Fotos und handschriftlichen Aufzeichnungen in Form einer als computerunterstützten Loseblattsammlung geführten Kartei, die mittels der Autorsymbolmethode mit dem Bibliotheksbestand verknüpft ist und laufend aktualisiert wird:
  • Beschaffung der relevanten Literatur in Form von Zeitschriften, Periodica, Buchreihen, Einzel-publikationen, Sonderdrucken oder Kopien

  • Auswertung und Eingabe in die computergeführte Datenbank

  • Anlage der Autorenkartei in Form einer Loseblattsammlung in der jede Veröffentlichung nebst ihren Bibliothekssignaturen auf einem eigenen Blatt erfasst ist

  • Anlage der Artenkartei in Form einer Loseblattsammlung in der jedes Taxon auf einem eigenen Blatt erfasst ist

  • Verknüpfung durch Eintrag der Informationen auf das Artblatt mittels Autorsymbol

  • Ergänzung des Artblattes durch eigene Beobachtungen, Gesprächsnotizen, Fotos u.a.

  • Anordnung und ständige Anpassung der Artblätter zur aktuellen Systematik soweit möglich

Der Stand der Kenntnis ist bei den einzelnen Familien, und da innerhalb der Gattungen natürlich völlig unterschiedlich. Bemerkungen darüber sowie über laufende oder geplante Forschungsprojekte, Aktivitäten korrespondierender Wissenschaftler und weitere finden sich jeweils in den einleitenden Kapiteln zu den einzelnen Familien.

Geographische Abgrenzung

Hatte DANIEL sich noch auf das palaearktische Faunengebiet beschränkt und die orientalische Fauna nur ansatzweise berücksichtigt, so bezog WITT nun dieses Gebiet mit ein und berücksichtigte auch die Nearktis. Um wenigstens ansatzweise einen Einblick in die Fauna des südamerikanischen und afrikanischen Kontinents zu gewinnen wurde seit Beginn der 90er Jahre begonnen Material aus diesen Gebieten zu sammeln.

Diese historisch entstandene geographische Begrenzung steht natürlich der systematischen Erforschung und dem Verständnis der Familien als Hindernis im Weg. Sphingidae und Hepialidae werden seit langer Zeit weltweit gesammelt, und in allen Familien gibt es Gruppen oder Gattungen, bei denen bereits im Ansatz der Schritt zur Dokumentation der Gesamtverbreitung getan wurde, so z.B. Gattung Utetheisa HÜBNER ( Arctiidae ), Phyllodesma HÜBNER ( Lasiocampidae ) und Furcula LAMARCK ( Notodontidae ). Die weitere geographische Ausweitung ist auf jeden Fall als langfristige Zielsetzung anzusehen.

Das Südamerika-Material hat inzwischen einen erheblichen Umfang angenommen, so dass ein eigenes Forschungsprojekt "Südamerika" [Lepidoptera Neotropica] daraus entstanden ist.

Auch das Afrika-Material hat einen beträchtlichen Zuwachs erfahren, Schwerpunkt bilden Ausbeuten aus dem Congo, aus Namibia, Kenya, Tanzania, Südafrika und Madagaskar. Die Ausbeuten des Saharareisenden Lepidopterologen Harald Sulak aus Mauretanien und Mali schließen die Lücken in der Kenntnis der Nord-Süd-Zusammenhänge der Verbreitung im Westen, weiter seine Reisen durch Libyen bis Äthiopien so wie die Lichtfallenergebnisse der Aufsammlungen von Dr.G. Müller aus dem östlichen Randgebiet Ägyptens bis an die Grenze des Sudan neue Erkenntnisse brachten. Die Forschungsreisen von Vladimir GURKO in den Sudan sowie die Forschungsreisen von Aidas SALDAITIS auf die arabische Insel Sokotra brachten ebenfalls wesentliche neue Erkenntnisse.

Zusammenarbeit mit Spezialisten

Die Bearbeitung dieser großen Zahl sehr heterogener Lepidopterenfamilien ist in der Form, wie sie von DANIEL noch praktiziert wurde, heute nicht mehr möglich. Zu komplex sind die Problemstellungen und die Methodik bei den einzelnen Familien, zu umfangreich wurde die Flut neuer Publikationen als daß ein einzelner Mensch auch nur annähernd alle bearbeiten kann. Bei der Aufbereitung der immensen Neueingänge an Material aus den Expeditionen vergeht kein Arbeitstag, an dem nicht ein Neufund für ein Faunengebiet, ein bisher unbekanntes Geschlecht einer Art, eine neue Population die es verdient als Unterart abgetrennt zu werden oder eine neu zu beschreibende Art entdeckt werden oder Informationen gewonnen werden die ergänzende Bausteine zu Problemstellungen darstellen, an denen Kollegen arbeiten die darüber informiert werden müssen. Und immer wieder kommt es vor, daß in der Literatur eine neue Art nach wenigen Tieren beschrieben wird und es sich dann herausstellt daß davon umfangreiche Serien aus verschiedenen Regionen vorhanden sind, deren Studium die Beschreibung in vieler Hinsicht ergänzt und bereichert hätte.

So suchte und sucht WITT stets den Kontakt zu Lepidopterologen, die sich auf eine Familie oder Einheit der in seiner Zielsetzung angeführten und somit im Museum betreuten Familien spezialisiert haben. Der Lauf der Jahre brachte die Begegnung mit einer Reihe qualifizierter Spezialisten, die für die Bearbeitung des in manchen Familien immensen neu eingegangenen Materials gewonnen werden konnten. Eine regelmäßige Zusammenarbeit, Erfahrungsaustausch, und gegebenen Falles Konautorschaft bei Publikationen kennzeichnen solche Kollegen, die als "Korrespondierende Wissenschaftler" des Museums geführt und hier vorgestellt werden.

Research Associate des McGUIRE CENTER for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity

Im Oktober 2011 wurde Thomas WITT zum Research Associate des McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity am Florida Museum of Natural History, University of Florida, Gainesville, ernannt.

The McGuire Center for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity serves both research and public education functions. The center includes the living Butterfly Rainforest and exhibit space that features information about Lepidoptera and rainforests worldwide, as well as 39,000 square feet of research laboratories and collection space.

McGUIRE CENTER for Lepidoptera and Biodiversity, 308 Hull Road, PO Box 112710, Gainesville, FL 32611-2710, U.S.A.
homepage McGuire Center for Lepidoptera & Biodiversity

Verleihung der Ehrendoktorwürde seitens der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München

Am 22.November 2013 wurde im Rahmen einer Festveranstaltung in den Räumen der Zoologischen Sammlung des Bayerischen Staates der Titel eines Doktor honoris causa rerum naturalium an Dipl.-Kfm. Thomas J. Witt durch den Prodekan der Fakultät für Biologie der LMU, Prof. Dr. Jörg Nickelsen, verliehen.

Die Feier fand in einem festlichen Rahmen statt und nach der Festansprache von Prof. Dr. Haszprunar, Generaldirektor der Staatlichen Naturwissenschaftlichen Sammlungen Bayerns (SNSB), sprachen Dr. Axel Hausmann (ZSM), der aus Ungarn angereiste Prof. Dr. Zoltán Varga (Universität Debrecen) und Prof. Dr. Michael Boppré (Albert-Ludwigs-Universität Freiburg i.Br.). Dieser führte das Auditorium in die Welt südamerikanischer Bärenspinner ein (“Bärenspinner: Gifte, Düfte und mehr”) und eröffnete dabei eine faszinierende Perspektive interdisziplinärer Forschung weit über die Grenzen von Systematik und Taxonomie im engeren Sinne.

Der frisch gebackene Dr. h.c. Thomas Witt bedankte sich mit einem leidenschaftlichen Plädoyer für verstärkte Bemühungen zur Erfassung und zum Erhalt der Biodiversität unserer Erde und zeigte auf, welche rechtlichen und organisatorischen Rahmenbedingungen geeignet und nötig sind, um die internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Forschung und den Aufbau von Forschungssammlungen zu begünstigen. Die beiliegende Fotoauswahl zeigt einen Überblick über die Gäste der Festveranstaltung.

Verleihung des Akademiepreises 2014

Am Samstag, 6. Dezember 2014 fand im Herkulessaal der Münchner Residenz die Jahresfeier der Bayerischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Anwesenheit von Staatsminister Ludwig Spaenle statt.

Daran anschließend wurden durch Akademiepräsident Prof. Dr. Karl-Heinz Hoffmann sechs Preise verliehen, unter anderem an Dr. h.c. Thomas J. Witt wegen seiner Verdienste um die Erforschung von Schmetterlingen und seines herausragenden Engagements zur Förderung wissenschaftlicher Projekte im Bereich der Biodiversitätsforschung.
mehr Informationen über Verleihung des Akademiepreises 2014

Verleihung des Ranges und Titels Professor in Entomology seitens der Universität Bamako

Am 18. Dezember 2017 wurden Dr. h.c. Thomas J. Witt vom Leiter der Abteilung für Entomologie und des Malaria Research und Training Centers Rang und Titel eines Professor in Entomology an der Fakultät der University of Sciences, Techniques and Technologies of Bamako, Mali verliehen.

Patronyme – nach Dr. h.c. Thomas J. Witt benannte Taxa

Genera (5)
Wittia De Freina (Arctiidae)
Wittstrotia Behounek & Speidel , 2005 (Noctuidae)
Wittocossus Yakovlev , 2004 (Cossidae)
Wittonola László, Ronkay & Ronkay, 2014, in litteris (Nolidae)
Wittinia VOLKOVA, 2017, in litteris

Species (32)
Thibetana witti Efetov (Zygaenidae)
Peridea witti Schintlmeister (Notodontidae)
Wernya witti László & Ronkay (Thyatiridae)
Neotogaria thomaswitti László & Ronkay & Ronkay (Thyatiridae)
Epipsestis witti László & Ronkay & Ronkay (Thyatiridae)
Saturnia (Rinaca) witti Brechlin (Saturniidae)
Phantosoma witti Kostjuk & Zolotuhin , 2000 (Lasiocampidae)
Neostilbina witti Thoeny , 2000 (Noctuidae)
Smerinthulus witti Brechlin , 2000 (Sphingidae)
Lymantria witti Schintlmeister ,2004 (Lymantriidae)
Ethmia thomaswitti Kun , 2004 (Ethmiidae)
Utetheisa (Pitasila) witti De Vos , 2006 (Arctiidae)
Phocoderma witti Solovyev , 2007 (Limacodidae)
Semagystia witti Yakovlev , 2007 (Cossidae)
Actias witti Brechlin , 2007 (Saturniidae)
Holcocerus witti Yakovlev & Saldaitis & Ivinskis , 2007 (Cossidae)
Idiovulpecula witti Karisch (Arctiidae, Lithosiinae)
Diachrysia witti Ronkay & Ronkay & Behounek , 2008 (Noctuidae)
Caio witti Brechlin & Meister , 2010 (Saturniidae)
Neochalcosia witti Buchsbaum & Chen & Speidel , 2010 (Zygaenidae)
Automeris witti Brechlin & Meister , 2011 (Saturniidae)
Adelowalkeria witti Brechlin & Meister , 2011 (Saturniidae)
Typhonia witti Sobczyk , 2012 (Psychidae)
Graptasura witti Bucsek, 2012 (Arctiidae)
Eucraera witti Prozorov , in litteris (Lasiocampidae)
Ortopla witti Behounek & Han & Kononenko , 2013 (Noctuidae)
Calliteara witti Trofimova & Shovkoon , 2016 (Lymantriidae)
Nola thomaswitti László, Ronkay & Ronkay, 2014, (Nolidae)
Carriola witti SHOVKOON (in litteris) (Lymantriidae)
Scopelodes witti SOLOVYEV & GIUSTI , 2017 (Limacodidae)
Lithosarctia witti VOLYNKIN & SALDAITIS, 2018 (Arctiidae)
Nephelomilta thomaswitti VOLYNKIN & CERNY, 2018 (Arctiidae)

Subspezies (8)
Zygaena filipendulae witti Wiegel (Zygaenidae)
Dendrolimus pini witti De Freina (Lasiocampidae)
Trichiura verenae witti Ganev (Lasiocampidae)
Eilema albicosta witti Kobes , 1993 (Arctiidae)
Poecilocampa populi witti De Freina (Lasiocampidae)
Laothoe philerema witti Eitschberger & Danner & Surholt (Sphingidae)
Clanis deucalion thomaswitti Eitschberger & Ihle, 2013 (Sphingidae)
Cyana (Ideovulpecula) pretoriae witti Karisch, 2013 (Arctiidae)

Eigene Veröffentlichungen

Dementsprechend sind auch die Publikationen von WITT (siehe Autobibliographie ) nicht durch Spezialisierung gekennzeichnet, sondern beschäftigen sich breitgefächert mit Erkenntnissen in den verschiedenen Familien oder beinhalten den Versuch der zusammenfassenden Darstellung. Dabei sei auf folgende Projekte hingewiesen, die es verdienen gesondert erwähnt zu werden: die inzwischen abgeschlossene Buchreihe "Die Bombyces et Sphinges der Westpaläarktis" , die Reihe "Moths of Vietnam with special reference to Mt.Fan-si-pan" sowie die Publikationen im Rahmen der Erforschung der "Insekten Israels" . Zudem ist WITT Mitbegründer des WITT CATALOGUE, einer auf rund 60 Bände ausgelegten Buchreihe über Noctuoidea, die in den kommenden 25 Jahren erscheinen wird: „Der Witt Katalog - ein taxonomischer Atlas der eurasischen und nordafrikanischen Noctuoidea". In 2014 begründete er die Buchserie “Proceedings of the Museum Witt“ in Zusammenarbeit mit dem State Nature Research Centre in Vilnius, Lithuania.
zurück